The basement flooded yesterday…

The unfinished part of the basement flooded yesterday–some problem with the shower line.  Anyway I’ve been busy cleaning up the mess–trying to salvage the items unfortunate enough to still be stored in cardboard.  I’ve been slowly converting all of my storage to the big sterilite tubs you get at Target. It probably wouldn’t have been so bad, but I’ve been rearranging stuff down there, trying to get myself a little scrap/stamp room.  So there were lots of piles of stuff, and lots of cardboard boxes on the ground.  The good news is that most everything was okay.  And as soon as I finish getting the boxes and furniture up off  the floor and finish bleaching the floor–the basement will be nice and sanitary. : )

Anyway–the goodies that I finished, except for the preview, probably won’t be uploaded for another day or so.

I’m scheduled to work a lot at the real job in the next three days, so I’m going to try to squeeze in finishing the preview and uploading. 

Today will hopefully be better…

6 responses to “The basement flooded yesterday…

  1. Oh no! So sorry about the basement, flood cleanup is such a yucky job. We had a washing machine hose break so I totally understand the mess.

    Hope you didn’t loose to much and you are so right, things are oh so clean when you get thru 🙂

  2. Ahhh, a flooded basement, BTDT (twice). One thing to remember about the tubs is that if they are not heavy enough they will just “float” and then tip over allowing water to get into them anyway……like I said Been There Done That!!!!!

    Sorry to hear about the mess!
    Dawn

  3. Oh wow. When you said you were having a few rainy days you weren’t kidding Andrea. Thank heavens there was no major damage done. Especially to stuff that you had made.

  4. Thanks to everyone for their words of encouragement. Sorry to hear about your first hand experiences too. I’m still cleaning up the mess today, Tuesday…but that’s mostly because I worked a double shift(yesterday Monday–day & evening–7am-11:30pm). I got some of it cleaned up Sunday–the terrible day of the flood. Unfortunately just not enough time to design & scrap till it’s done.

  5. Sorry to hear about the basement but glad there was no serious damage. Aren’t those plastic bins great?

  6. I am so sorry about your basement!

    I just wanted to leave you a note to let you know I’ve posted a layout with your Forget Me Not Kit from an earlier freebie on my homeschool blog at:

    http://littleacornscds.blogspot.com

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

