My Idea of Paradise–SM Blog Train Starts Here…

Welcome to paradise–at least my version of it! This is the first stop on the ScrapMatters blog train. Thanks for stopping by…

My Portuguese-Hawaiian great-grandma was born in Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii and I have grown up hearing stories from my family of how great Hawaii is.  Since we lived in Seattle, WA, USA far away from Hawaii, no one ever took me there.  But my mom, grandma and great-grandma would go visit whenever they could, after scrimping and saving for months, sometimes even years it seemed.  But because I had never been there before I just didn’t understand the magic.

Well in 2000 I went to Maui and found out about the magic first hand.  Brad and I loved it, we had the best trip.  And no I haven’t scrapbooked the pictures yet!  That was before digital cameras and I still have to scan in each one. Some of my favorite memories of that trip to Maui were the Road to Hana dotted with waterfalls, caves and black sand beaches, eating dinner with a group of good friends at Mama’s Fish House, taking a helicopter ride around the island and snorkeling at Molokini. It was so beautiful, warm and relaxing and I have often wanted to return, but the opportunity hasn’t presented itself amidst paying college tuition, home repairs and the like.

But now I am so excited, Brad and I get to go to Oahu next month with my brother and his wife.  Just thinking about the trip makes me smile…

Here is a little quick page I made to share with you. It is using the SM Design Team’s wonderful mega-collab Hawaiian Happy Hour.  It’s free with a $15 purchase from ScrapMatters.

Hawaiian Happy Hour by the SM Design Team

Hawaiian Happy Hour by the SM Design Team

Hawaii Sunset Quick Page

Hawaii Sunset Quick Page

I filled mine with a beautiful picture of a Hawaiian sunset I found on Flickr, but after next month–it will be filled with one of my photos.  You can download the 5×7 quick page on 4shared  here.

Hawaiian Happy Hour Quick Page

Hawaiian Happy Hour Quick Page

Thanks again for dropping by and I wish you many happy hours finding and scrapping your paradise.  I would love it if you left me a comment sharing your idea of paradise with me before you move on!  The next stop on the blog train is at Brittney’s blog: http://brittishdesigns.blogspot.com

7 responses to “My Idea of Paradise–SM Blog Train Starts Here…

  1. Thank you so much!!! ALL of the QP’s are just beautiful!!!!

  2. Good morning.. happy NSD!

  3. Thank you so much for this Freebie. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in Creative Busy Hands Scrapbook Freebies Search List, under the Uncategorized post on May. 02, 2009. Thanks again.

  4. Thank you for the awesome QP!! 🙂

  5. I’m so jealous that you get to go back! We went to Kauai, and Oahu and share the same Aloha yearning you do. I have great pictures that will be perfect in this page! Mahalo!

  6. Thank you for the beautiful QP. Have a wonderful time in Hawaii. Also hope you are feeling better – meant to check in with you earlier about that!

  7. thescrappywife

    Lovely QP! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

